I’LL TELL MY HEART TO LISTEN – Ololade

I’ll tell my heart to listen 
That it’ll hear the beats and the seasons

I’ll tell my heart to listen 

That it’ll hear something in the wind

Something2 in the twisting beams, hanging in the form of tired branches 

Something in the bitter sweet happenings

Something in reality 

Something in dreams

Something in the tomorrow I hope will be

Something in hopes not dying 

Something in visions worth keeping 

Something in the eyes of the girl on the street

Hawking razor-peeled oranges 

Something in the sigh of a mother

Cleaning her perspirating head, caramel brown from bother

Something in the cry of a nation

Unsure of it’s leaders and fathers

Something in the future, something bright, something beautiful, something new 

I’ll tell my heart to listen

That it’ll hear

Something different. 

Poet: Ajani Ololade Taiwo

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Osun state, Nigeria. 

#teamtcm 

Love this?  Don’t keep it to yourself, share, comment and subscribe to get more of this. You can as well follows us on our social media platforms:

Instagram:@teamtcm…. .  Twitter:@thecreativemin2 

Leave a Reply

